ChevsLife

Lifestyle & Parenting Blog

The Chicken Wing…

Today was the day! I got to work at 7:50 and at 9:20 just as I’m about to leave it starts storming! So I consider waiting for the rain to stop (my umbrella broke a few weeks ago), arrgghhh! But not even the storm could stop me from doing what I intended to do today…

Soaking wet I stepped into Checkers to buy a bright red umbrella. 2 minutes later I arrived at my destination; Lifestyle Surf, ready to join Mom’s on Board, only to get there and be told that no one has arrived yet!
Tempted, oh so tempted, to just walk out, I decided to stand outside in the rain and watch the waves, perfect sets one after the other…
FINALLY Geathe arrives and Brenton (I think this is his name) hands me a wetsuit and off to the changing room I go.

OMG – NEVER EVER DID I REALISE JUST HOW DIFFICULT IT IS TO PUT ON A WETSUIT! It took me about 5 minutes just to get the bloody thing up to my calves!! Out of breath and ready to throw in the towel and just walk out, I pushed myself to just get it to my knees, ANOTHER 5 minute of complete exhaustion, pulling, and twisting, leaning against the wall, sitting on the bench, using all my might, just to get the wetsuit over my knees!


Then came the real challenge, getting the OH SO TIGHT wetsuit over my HIPS, now this may have been a hilarious sight to behold! Me in my old school swimming costume that I dug out from a suitcase somewhere this morning, laughing my ass off trying to get the bloody wetsuit over my hips!!!

Finally, feeling a bit like a beached whale, struggling to breath, I managed to get the wetsuit over my hips and finally over my chest. Getting my arms in was a lot easier lol.

Then Brenton hands me this 10foot something board, which is twice my height, and so very wide, but apparently the perfect board for a newbie like me…well, I tell you, I managed to pick it up, but couldn’t carry it without having it drag on the ground in the front or the back – I needed reinforcements just to get the board down the alleyway! So we decided on a slightly shorter board…

Finally after 25 minutes I make it to the beach and Geathe shows me how to do the “chicken wing” move when I want to stand up on the board. After her very easy demonstration it was my turn to try it out. So on my stomach I go, hands under my chest, left foot pulled to the inside of my right knee and then the magic, pushing up on my arms and magically jumping up on my right leg…WELL I GOT AS FAR AS PUSHING UP WITH MY ARMS AND NOTHING ELSE! Geewiz it’s hard work!!

So after that oh so easy demonstration, into the ocean I go.

ABSOLUTE BLISS! AWESOME, AMAZING, THE GUSH OF THE WAVES OVER MY BODY AS IT BREAKS WHILE I TRY AND KEEP THE BOARD FROM TEARING MY FEET OUT FROM RIGHT UNDER MY BODY!!! ALL I COULD THINK OF WAS HOW HEAVENLY IT IS TO BE IN THE OCEAN, NEVER MIND TRYING TO SURVIVE WAVES CRASHING INTO ME AND TRYING TO BALANCE MY BODY (which for some reason kept leaning to the left, resulting in me falling off before I even got to do the “chicken wing”!) ON THE BOARD TO TRY AND “CATCH” A WAVE…

After many unsuccessful attempts to stand on my oh so very big board, it was finally time for me to get out, shower and head back to the office. WELL I CAN TELL YOU ALL, IT FELT SO GREAT THAT IF I DIDEN’T HAVE TO GO TO THE OFFICE THEN I’D PROBABLY STILL BE IN THE WATER AT THIS VERY MOMENT!!

I have a new found respect for surfers, they must be super fit! I struggled just walking back up to the beach, climbing the small step and flip, getting the wetsuit off was another 7 minute drama, BUT I AM SO DOING IT AGAIN, EVEN IF I DON’T MANAGE TO STAND ON THE BOARD, JUST BEING IN THE OCEAN IS GOOD ENOUGH FOR ME!
THANKS Moms on Board for an EPIC Tuesday Morning!feelingawesome.

4 comments on “The Chicken Wing…

  1. Pingback: I Crave the Wave! | ChevsLife

  2. survivingjonkersville
    April 26, 2015

    You’re so brave. As much as I love the ocean, it scares me so you’ll alwasy find me in the very shallow side (where the water just about touches my toes).

    Like

    • ChevsLife
      April 26, 2015

      I promise you, I don’t go very deep – still figuring out how to swim with a 10 foot board attached to my ankle!

      Like

      • survivingjonkersville
        April 26, 2015

        Maybe it’s the hubsters obsesssion with watching shark week that scares me. Seems fun though. Your enthusiasm is apparent so you’ll ace it. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 29, 2014 by in Uncategorized.

Navigation

